Bible Reading Plan

Wednesday, July 1: Psalm 3; 1 Samuel 27

Thursday, July 2: Psalm 5; 1 Samuel 28

Friday, July 3: Psalm 6; 1 Samuel 29

Saturday, July 4: Psalm 9; Esther 5

Sunday, July 5: Psalm 10; 1 Samuel 30

Monday, July 6: Psalm 12; 1 Samuel 31

Tuesday, July 7: Psalm 13; 2 Corinthians 1

Wednesday, July 8: Psalm 14; 2 Corinthians 2

Thursday, July 9: Psalm 15; 2 Corinthians 3

Friday, July 10: Psalm 16; 2 Corinthians 4

Saturday, July 11: Psalm 17; Esther 6

Sunday, July 12: Psalm 21; 2 Corinthians 5

Monday, July 13: Psalm 22; 2 Corinthians 6

Tuesday, July 14: Psalm 24; 2 Corinthians 7

Wednesday, July 15: Psalm 25; 2 Corinthians 8

Thursday, July 16: Psalm 26; 2 Corinthians 9

Friday, July 17: Psalm 27; 2 Corinthians 10

Saturday, July 18: Psalm 28; Esther 7

Sunday, July 19: Psalm 30; 2 Corinthians 11

Monday, July 20: Psalm 31; 2 Corinthians 12

Tuesday, July 21: Psalm 35; 2 Corinthians 13

Wednesday, July 22: Psalm 36; 2 Samuel 1

Thursday, July 23: Psalm 37; 2 Samuel 2

Friday, July 24: Psalm 38; 2 Samuel 3

Saturday, July 25: Psalm 39; Esther 8

Sunday, July 26: Psalm 40; 2 Samuel 4

Monday, July 27: Psalm 41; 2 Samuel 5

Tuesday, July 28: Psalm 42; 2 Samuel 6

Wednesday, July 29: Psalm 43; 2 Samuel 7

Thursday, July 30: Psalm 44; 2 Samuel 8

Friday, July 31: Psalm 45; 2 Samuel 9


Many of us have picked up a Bible reading plan at one point or another. For a while it may go well, but then it can feel guilt-inducing if you miss a day (or five) and the readings pile up. You may even get to the point (I know I have) where you abandon the plan altogether because you’re too far behind. That guilt we feel may be more of a sign of failing to understand God’s grace toward us in Christ than anything else—reading the Bible and keeping up with a reading plan won’t save you or change your standing in Christ. 

 

That said, we need God’s Word. When tempted in the wilderness, Jesus quoted Deuteronomy 8:3 when he said, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.” We need nourishment from God’s word. There are also some unique advantages to a church following a reading plan together. I’ll just mention one. To quote Robert Murray M’Cheyne, as we do this together, “the sweet bond of Christian love and unity will be strengthened... We shall pray over the same promises, mourn over the same confessions, praise God in the same songs, and be nourished by the same words of eternal life.” And on top of that, we can talk about it together and encourage one another in it over text messages, phone calls, and video chats. 

 

This Bible reading plan is intentionally short to make it doable for many (if you think it’s not enough, you’re encouraged to read more!). It should take under ten minutes most days (that’s less than half an episode of The Office!). If you already have a routine, you could slip this into it or add it as a habit elsewhere. Every day will have one Psalm and one other chapter. On Saturdays, we will read the passage that will be preached on Sunday morning, and the rest of the days we will be reading through different books of the Bible. Join us as we read God’s word together!